Archive for June 6th, 2013

The Saga of Family

Our focus for Summer Reading in June is “Digging into the Past.” Looking into your own family history is a popular pastime, but sometimes it’s good to take a step back and look at someone else’s family issues (after all, you can’t spell dysfunctional without ‘fun’). The following books are all sagas about families – the good, the bad, and the ugly. Pick one up and forget about the drama in your own family for awhile.


The Forsyte Saga (All three novels included in one book: The Forstye Saga) by James Galsworthy

  • The saga begins with Soames Forsyte, a successful British solicitor who buys land at Robin Hill on which to build a house for his wife Irene and future family. Eventually, the Forsyte family begins to disintegrate when Timothy Forsyte, the last of the old generation, dies at the age of 100.

Kent Family Chronicles (Book 1: The Bastard) by John Jakes

  • Begins with the the illiterate son of a French nobleman who flees Europe to join in the turbulent events that began the American Revolution, and covers the growth of America until the 1890s.

Williamsburg Saga (Book 1: Dawn’s Early Light) by Elswyth Thane

  • The lives of several generations of two families, beginning with the American Revolution and ending with events of WWII.

The Century Trilogy (Book 1: The Fall of Giants) by Ken Follett

  • Following four families, Follett traces their lives from the beginnings of WWI through the Cold War.

Morland Dynasty (Book 1: The Founding) by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

  • A series of 34+ novels tracing the lives of the Morland family of York, England from the War of the Roses in the 14th Century through the Jazz Age of the 2oth.

The Sackett Series (Book 1: Sackett’s Land) by Louis L’Amour

  • A look at the lives of members of the Sackett clan as they emigrate to America from England, covering the expansion of the West.

The Courtney Novels (Book 1: When the Lion Feeds) by Wilbur Smith

  • Chronicles the lives of the Courtney family as they settle and live in South Africa, from the 1600s through the 1980s.

Ravenscar Trilogy (Book 1: The Ravenscar Dynasty) – Barbara Taylor Bradford

  • Beginning at the turn of the 20th Century, this series follows members of the successful Deravanel family through the early part of the 20th Century.

Immigrants Series (Book 1: The Immigrants) by Howard Fast

  • Follows the lives of three California families from the San Francisco earthquake in 1906 through the rest of the 20th Century.

The House of Winslow (Book 1: The Honorable Imposter) by Gilbert Morris

  • These 40 novels cover the Winslow family from their arrival in North America on the Mayflower through WWII.