Best of 2009

It’s the most wonderful time of the year – and I’m not talking about the holidays. It’s the time when the “Best of” lists come out! Okay, maybe I’m the only nerd, but I always enjoy seeing how many of the “best” books I’ve read – and I also get a few ideas for books to read in the next year.

We choose lists compiled by three organizations/businesses, each for different reasons. We like the Amazon.com list because they tend to look at many of the popular titles, while Publishers Weekly looks at the best titles in several different genres/subjects. Finally, The New York Times list represents a more literary point of view.

Only 10 books made all three lists – making them the Best of the Best. Wow, I just noticed that four of these books were written by a Dave/David. Do I smell a conspiracy here (or maybe “daves” are just better writers…)?:

Fiction –

Nonfiction –

Lists of the Best of Books that TFPL has in stock:

Look for a list of staff favorites of 2009 next week!

One response to this post.

  1. Thanks for the shout Jhills.

    It turns out, all the best stuff really is being written by Dave’s, suddenly. Haha. I found that very odd, too. And apparently I missed the memo to go by the formal version on my birth certificate. I just don’t feel like a David. No one actually calls me that.

    But I was very happy to make the lists, and your blog.

    d

    Reply

Leave a Reply

